top of page

Local theatre groups recognized with online awards

Southern Coalition for the Arts won three online BroadWayWorld Regional Awards including Best Direction of a Musical for their production of the Rocky Horror Show.

PHOTO | Dylan Vidovich Photography

Faith Bannister | WVOW News

LOGAN Logan County non-profit performing arts companies receive recognition for their hard work.

The BroadwayWorld Awards is an online means of honoring the best in regional theatre productions. Audiences can nominate productions, companies, and actors for different awards. Voting is typically open from November to December with results in January.

Rachel Noe-Maynard and Leah Clay-Stone of Southern Coalition for the Arts received awards for their summer 2022 production, The Rocky Horror Show. Rocky won in the categories of Best Direction of a Musical, Best Ensemble Performance, and Best Lighting Design of a Play or Musical. The ARTS was also named runners-up in several categories including: Best Choreography of a Play or Musical, Best Musical, Best Scenic Design of a Play and Favorite Local Theatre. Moreover, DJ Conley and Candace Maynard were runners-up for Best Supporting Performer in a Musical.

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Theatre also received awards for its spring production of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Directed by Bill France, Southern’s Communications Director, Cuckoo won in the categories of Best Scenic Design and Best Sound Design of a Play or Musical.

The Aracoma Story Inc. received runner-up honors in eight categories for their name sake production The Aracoma Story and Ring of Fire.

Ring of Fire, the musical about the life of country icon Johnny Cash, was in contention for Best Musical. Melissa Frye received runner-up for Best Direction of a Musical and Griffin Frye Best Performer in a Musical.

The Aracoma Story finished second in voting for the category Best Ensemble Performance. The runners-up finish for Aracoma includes: Marksie Dunn for Best Performer; Kaity Dingess for Best Supporting Performer; Janie Adkins for Best Costume Design and Katherine Johnson for Best Sound Design.



Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page