top of page

Unofficial Election Results In The Coalfields

Updated: Nov 5, 2020

Unofficial election results in the Coalfields -

Wayne County passed the Fire, Health Department, and Library Levy.

In Boone County, Republican Donna Taylor won Boone County Prosecuting Attorney over Democrat Keith Randolph with 62 percent of the vote.

Jacob Messer won a seat on the Boone County Commission, defeating challenger Josh Barker with 52 percent of the vote.

In Mingo County, Democrat Joe Smith is the new Mingo County Sheriff – earning 65 percent of the vote over Republican Sammons Ernest’s 35 percent.

Democrat Jonathon “Duke” Jewell barely won the vote for Mingo County Prosecuting Attorney over Republican Brock Mounts. The two were separated by a mere 10 votes.

Gavin Smith won a Mingo County Commission seat over Greg “Hootie” Smith with 57 percent of the vote.

Democrat Larry “Yogi” Croaff secured the position of Mingo County Clerk over Republican Russell Deskins with 56 percent of the vote.

In Lincoln County, Republican Gary “Butch” Linville won Lincoln County Sheriff over Democrat Ollie Duane Hunting with 65 percent of the vote.

Democrat Jereme Browning is the new Lincoln County Assessor with 48 percent of the vote. Chad McCormick carried 34 percent of the vote and Mike Hill picked up 18 percent of the vote.

The results of Tuesday’s election are unofficial until the election canvass next week.



bottom of page