top of page

W.Va. Legislature Creates Redistricting Committee

The Senate and the House of Delegates each voted last week to create redistricting committees to establish new legislative districts in the Mountain State.

State lawmakers are responsible for drawing district lines for the state senate and house districts every ten years. Moreover, the legislature also draws lines for congressional districts.

The Joint Committee on Redistricting will be led by Republicans Senator Charles Trump and Delegate Gary Howell.

State office holders making up the committee include the Senator Rupie Phillips and Delegates Nathan Brown and Zach Maynard.

According to early data from the U.S. Census, West Virginia will lose one of the state’s representatives to Congress.

The Joint Committee on Redistricting will be traveling through the state this summer, hosting public meetings and gathering comments.



Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page