top of page

Several Coalfields Students Recognized As Honorary Secretaries Of State

Secretary of State Mac Warner announced the list of students recognized as Honorary Secretaries of State.

The Honorary Secretary of State program recognizes high school students who are committed to registering, informing, and mobilizing their peers to vote. Honorees are from Jennings Randolph Award-winning schools and are nominated by their teachers for their efforts.

Winners in the Coalfields are as follows:

Boone County

Scott High School – Chloe Older & Haylee Miller

Sherman High School – Jacob Massey & Abby Bolton

Van High School – Christopher Blake Martin & Kensley White

Logan County

Logan High School – Sara Fortune

Mingo County

Mingo Central High School – Emily Cline & Trace Clark

Tug Valley High School – Makayla Jarvis

Wyoming County

Westside High School – Julie Brown & Molly Cook

Honorees are invited to spend time at the West Virginia State Capitol, learning about the duties of the Secretary of State's Office and the functions of the State Legislature.

bottom of page